Peninsula Community of Schools

The Peninsula Community of Schools was launched in 2007as a collaborative learning community of 13 local state schools on the Northern Beaches; Barrenjoey, Narrabeen Sports and Pittwater High Schools and Avalon, Bilgola Plateau, Collaroy Plateau, Cromer, Elanora Heights, Mona Vale, Narrabeen Lakes, Narrabeen North, Newport and Wheeler Heights Public Schools.  The schools partner with each other to provide over 9,500 students from diverse backgrounds from K-12, with new and dynamic learning opportunities.

We build fresh and unique learning opportunities for students that are creative and relevant in the 21st century. 

Our extensive enrichment program aims to strengthen the academic, creative, social, physical and leadership capabilities of our students. We work collaboratively to connect our students to a broad range of experiences and competitions that take students beyond the classroom and encourage lifelong learning. Through these rich experiences, students further develop their knowledge, skills, relationships and values.

The Peninsula Community of Schools has a commitment to ongoing improvement through a comprehensive teacher professional learning program. Peninsula Community of Schools staffs participate in specialised workshops each term, supported by university staff, teachers and community partners, in which they are immersed in the most recent teaching and learning practices designed to improve student outcomes.

Since its inception our successful learning community has been recognised with:

  • a Director General's Award
  • The Cohesive Community of Schools Award
  • NAB Schools First Impact Award